Memories of Glass

Reminiscent of Diane Ackerman s The Zookeeper s Wife, this stunning novel draws from true accounts to shine a light on a period of Holland s darkest history and bravest heroes 1942 As war rips through the heart of Holland, childhood friends Josie van Rees and Eliese Linden partner with a few darin

The Winemaker's Wife

The author of the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Am lie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah s The Nightingale.Champagne, 1940 In s has just married Michel, th

The Ventriloquists

In this triumphant debut inspired by true events, a ragtag gang of journalists and resistance fighters risk everything for an elaborate scheme to undermine the Reich.Brussels, 1943 Twelve year old street orphan Helene survives by living as a boy and selling copies of the country s most popular news

L'Ordre du jour

L Allemagne nazie a sa l gende On y voit une arm e rapide, moderne, dont le triomphe parait inexorable Mais si au fondement de ses premiers exploits se d couvraient plut t des marchandages, de vulgaires combinaisons d int r ts Et si les glorieuses images de la Wehrmacht entrant triomphalement en

Wives of War

London, 1944 Two young nurses meet at a train station with a common purpose to join the war effort Scarlet longs for the chance to find her missing fianc , Thomas, and to prove to her family and to herself that she s stronger than everybody thinks Nursing is in Ellie s blood, but her humble back

Girls on the Line:

From the celebrated author of Daughters of the Night Sky comes a stirring novel inspired by the courage, dedication, and love of the unsung heroines of the Great War December 1917 As World War I rages in Europe, twenty four year old Ruby Wagner, the jewel in a prominent Philadelphia family, prepar

Metropolis (Bernie Gunther, #14)

Berlin, 1928, the dying days of the Weimar Republic shortly before Hitler and the Nazis came to power It was a period of decadence and excess as Berliners after the terrible slaughter of WWI and the hardships that followed are enjoying their own version of Babylon Bernie is a young detective w

Paris Echo

Here is Paris as you have never seen it before a city in which every building seems to hold the echo of an unacknowledged past, the shadows of Vichy and Algeria American postdoctoral researcher Hannah and runaway Moroccan teenager Tariq have little in common, yet both are susceptible to the dayli

Renia's Diary: A Holocaust Journal

The long hidden diary of a young Polish woman s last days during the Holocaust, translated for the first time into English, with a foreword from American Holocaust historian Deborah Lipstadt Renia Spiegel was a young girl from an upper middle class Jewish family living on an estate in Stawki, Polan